Wirtschaftsförderung Salzlandkreis

The district of Salzland

A diverse living environment, a region steeped in history: The district of Salzland not only offers great work opportunities, the lifestyle is also second to none.

Why choose the district of Salzland?

  • Industry focus: aluminium processing and automotive, plant and mechanical engineering, chemicals and plastics industry, agriculture and nutrition, life sciences (biotechnology, plant biotechnology, medical technology and pharmaceuticals)
  • Fertile land with very high yields
  • Perfect conditions for agriculture and modern plant breeding
  • Cutting-edge plant biotechnology research
  • Optimum road, rail and air connections. The A 36 provides fast links between the district of Salzland and the A7 (direction Hamburg/Kassel), the A 14 (direction Berlin/Dresden) and the A 395 (direction Braunschweig/Hanover)
  • Leipzig/Halle international airport
  • Magdeburg regional airport
  • Optimum conditions for your investments thanks to funding opportunities from the ‘joint Federal Government/Länder scheme for improving regional economic structures’

Portrait of the district of Salzland

The district of Salzland is located at the heart of Saxony-Anhalt between Magdeburg and Halle. Around 196,695 inhabitants live within an area of 1,426 km2. The district capital is Bernburg. 

The term ‘new district of Salzland’ implies a long economic tradition. Salt has always played a significant role in the region’s economic history, so much so that today we speak of the five white powders. As well as the production of salt and soda, cement and the manufacturing of flour and sugar play an important role.

The still relatively young district of Salzland – a merger of the former districts of Aschersleben-Staßfurt, Bernburg and Schönebeck – has established itself as a successful business location. Occupying a central location in Germany and Europe and boasting fast transport links to the B 6N (soon to be the A 36) and the A 14 as well as the aviation hub of Leipzig/Halle, the region has become a prime springboard for European and international companies. As a region focused on innovation and technology, the district of Salzland has research facilities that are geared to the needs of business as well as a highly skilled and motivated workforce. 

To top it all off, the region boasts a fascinating landscape between Harz and Börde and a diverse art and cultural scene.

Wirtschaftsförderung Salzlandkreis

Der Salzlandkreis

Ein vielfältiges Lebensumfeld, eine Region mit Geschichte:
In der Region Salzlandkreis kann man nicht nur gut arbeiten, sondern auch sehr gut leben.

Gute Gründe für den Salzlandkreis

  • Branchenfokus: Aluminiumverarbeitung und Automotive, Anlagen- und Maschinenbau, Chemie und Kunststoffindustrie, Landwirtschaft und Ernährung, Life Sciences (Biotechnologie, Pflanzenbiotechnologie, Medizintechnik und Pharma)
  • Fruchtbare Böden mit sehr hohen Bodenwertzahlen
  • Perfekte Bedingungen für die Landwirtschaft und die moderne Pflanzenzüchtung
  • Spitzenforschung in der Pflanzenbiotechnologie
  • Optimale Anbindung an den Straßen-, Schienen- und Luftverkehr. Die A 36 verbindet den Salzlandkreis auf kürzestem Weg mit der A 7 (Richtung Hamburg/Kassel), der A 14 (Richtung Berlin/Dresden) und der A 395 (Richtung Braunschweig/Hannover)
  • Internationaler Flughafen Leipzig/Halle
  • Regionaler Flugplatz Magdeburg
  • Optimale Bedingungen für Ihre Investitionen durch Fördermöglichkeiten aus der „Gemeinschaftsaufgabe zur Verbesserung der regionalen Wirtschaftsstruktur“

Portrait des Salzlandkreises

Der Salzlandkreis liegt in der Mitte von Sachsen-Anhalt, zwischen Magdeburg und Halle. Auf einer Fläche von 1.426 qkm leben etwa 196.695 Einwohner. Kreisstadt ist Bernburg.

Eine lange wirtschaftliche Tradition aus dem Begriff des neuen Salzlandkreises abzuleiten, liegt nahe. Hat Salz in der Wirtschaftsgeschichte der Region stets eine bedeutende Rolle gespielt, so spricht man heute von den fünf weißen Pulvern. Denn neben der Gewinnung von Salz und Soda spielen Zement und die Herstellung von Mehl und Zucker eine wichtige Rolle.

Der noch relativ junge Salzlandkreis – entstanden aus den ehemaligen Landkreisen Aschersleben-Staßfurt, Bernburg und Schönebeck - hat sich zu einem erfolgreichen Wirtschaftsstandort entwickelt. Die zentrale Lage in Deutschland und Europa, die schnellen Verkehrsanbindungen der B 6N (künftige A 36) und der A 14 sowie das Luftdrehkreuz Leipzig/Halle haben die Region zu einem optimalen Ausgangspunkt für europäische und internationale Unternehmungen werden lassen. Als innovations- und technologieorientierte Region verfügt der Salzlandkreis nicht nur über eine wirtschaftsnahe Forschungslandschaft, sondern auch über hochqualifizierte und motivierte Arbeitskräfte.

Und schließlich ergänzen die faszinierende Landschaft zwischen Harz und Börde und die vielfältige Kunst- und Kulturszene das Profil der Region.